FMS - 7 things sailors should know

FMS - 7 things sailors should know

by Chief of Naval Personnel
U.S. Navy

WASHINGTON (NNS) -- This spring, based on Fleet feedback, Navy revised the Final Multiple Score (FMS), the weighted formula used to select Sailors for advancement.

The new formula rewards sustained superior performance and increases the role of the command triad in the advancement of Sailors, officials said, Sept. 25.

Changes to the formulation were made to achieve the right balance between technical skill proficiency, as measured by the test, and on the job performance as gauged by chain of command input through the evaluation process. It also places less emphasis on longevity-based elements.

This fall's petty officer advancement results will be the first use of the new formula.

Here are seven things Sailors should know about FMS:

  1. FMS is a weight-based calculation used to rank Sailors eligible for advancement.
  2. The advancement examination is the largest factor considered for advancement to E4 and E5, increasing in weight by eight percentage points, going from 37 percent to 45 percent.
  3. For E6 and E7, Performance Mark Average (PMA) becomes the largest factor in determining Sailors' FMS. For advancement to E6, PMA increased three percentage points and now counts for 50 percent of the FMS calculation. For advancement to E7, PMA increased 10 percentage points to count for 60 percent of the total FMS.
  4. Sailors who pass the advancement exam, but do not advance due to quota limitations, are eligible to receive Pass Not Advanced (PNA) points; however, the new policy limits PNA points to the top 25 percent of Sailors - 1.5 PNA points go to the top 25 percent of Sailors by test score, and 1.5 go to the top 25 percent by Performance Mark Average. However, for the next five test exams, those who have PNA points will have those points carried over.
  5. Total PNA points in the FMS are determined from a Sailor's last five advancement cycles for a maximum of 15 possible points.
  6. Service in Pay Grade has been reduced from seven percent to a weight of one percent of FMS for advancement to E4 through E6.
  7. The Good Conduct Medal and the Reserve Meritorious Service Medal will no longer contribute award points in the FMS.

For more news from Chief of Naval Personnel, visit

Subscribe to our Stripes Pacific newsletter and receive amazing travel stories, great event info, cultural information, interesting lifestyle articles and more directly in your inbox!

Follow us on social media!

Facebook: Stars and Stripes Pacific
Flipboard: Stars and Stripes Community Sites

Looking to travel while stationed abroad? Check out our other Pacific community sites!
Stripes Japan
Stripes Okinawa
Stripes Korea

Recommended Content